theautismkidblog

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

WHAT MUMS NEED TO KNOW ABOUT BIRTHDAY’S AND PARTIES

on July 10, 2012

I’ve been thinking about this a lot , because on saturday it was my brother Cameron’s birthday and he was really happy the whole day , it hasn’t been like that in the past always  , in fact for me and Cameron birthdays parties have been massive problems , I don’t mean  be to say bad things about mum but she has got it wrong a lot in the past it took her a long time to really understand what a problem it was for me and Cameron . mum use to invite our class from school , and would always be thinking of interesting stuff like football party, blow up slide and bouncy castle party , Legoland party, super hero party , go-karting party I did like that one because I done that with one friend and Cameron . when I was little people would buy me stuff I didn’t like and they didn’t wrap it in green paper .sometimes I would make NT children and my family unhappy because I can’t lie and would say I don’t like it and I can’t pretend to be happy and smile, kids like me don’t like lots of different presents we like stuff we are interested in only its the way my brain thinks . at one time i could only think about Lego Starwars and model trains . what happens at birthday parties too many come and we don’t like crowds , then there’s food we don’t eat , next presents we don’t want , the worse for Cameron was people trying to hug and kiss him  he hates it, Cameron is like Sheldon you cannot just touch him . so after that we could have a meltdown and it can go on for days . mum said that’s enough we will do birthdays in a different way , I like my birthdays now . Cameron’s birthday on saturday he only had me and his best friend tim go to the pictures to see the new Spiderman film , we like super hero’s a lot , then we had pizza at home because we don’t like eating out because of the crowds , so we eat pizza and played mine craft . Cameron’s best friend Tim has aspergers so he likes all the things we like and we get each other . we need to be with friends like us on our birthdays people are always trying to get us to mix with normal children they think we are going to learn to be like them , but that’s stupid because we will never think like them we can’t have brain transplant . it’s all strange because normal kids aren’t made to play with 30 autistic children to make them like us .  I bet normal kids mums wouldn’t like their children being made to play with lots of autistic children , I think about all the things people think are good for me but they are NT people deciding that .  once Cameron was at my cousins party and he lit all the candles himself and eat some of her cake because it had been done for him when he saw the cake Cameron thought that’s what you do with cakes , our cousin was to upset but other adults were mad but mum said don’t worry they will always remember this party and laugh about it all one day . i am glad mum understands all this stuff so I don’t worry about things that go wrong .


2 responses to “WHAT MUMS NEED TO KNOW ABOUT BIRTHDAY’S AND PARTIES

  1. emily says:

    WOW Alex me and your cousin Jamie have been reading your blogs that your mum has posted on Facebook and would like to say how amazing you are at writing your thoughts and feelings down. WELL DONE sweetie 🙂 Alexa and Lucas say HI too xxx

  2. adam says:

    I am looking forward to meeting you Alex, do you like nerf guns, i also like to go on my razor scooter, i went to see spiderman with my mum what a super duper film.

    Are you going to see ice age i am going with mum this weekend.

    from Adam

Leave a comment