theautismkidblog

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

GREAT ORMOND STREET HOSPITAL IN LONDON TODAY

on September 4, 2012

Well today we had to get on the train really early and my brothers best friend Tim had an appointment at Great Ormond Street too  so we went together because mum is best friends with Tina who is Tim’s mum . Tina and mum went to school together which is a very long ago , not when the dinosaurs were around but it was over 31 years ago , Tina and Tim just made it in time they nearly missed the train it worried me for a little while but mum said don’t worry Tina’s late for most things but always gets to places by the skin of her teeth , I know what that means now,  I use to think that sounded painful .

When we got on the train it was ok until a man asked to sit next to mum , I didn’t want him to sit there he had a mean face with a mean voice and told Tina to put her feet down . I asked mum to tell him to move  but mum said she couldn’t because it was the early train were lots of men catch the train so they can be in the office at 8 o’clock . I was not very happy about this situation .

When we got to London we got in a black cab to Great Ormond Street because I can’t cope with the underground , it’s just too much for my sensory problems I feel ill on the tube and then people stare at you and I don’t like people looking in my eyes and being close to me , it’s a autism thing that only we can understand but mum’s good and she listens to me what I feel I can and cant do . there are lots I can do . I didn’t talk to the cab driver in the morning I was thinking  about my tests and worrying about my left ear .

we got there we were early so mum said I could have a hot chocolate that’s my favourite , but this can all go wrong for me if they don’t get the temperature right . I explained to the lady behind the counter that I needed a certain amount of cold milk . mum lets me get on with things like this because I need to be independent . I tasted it when she had finished and it was the perfect temperature I told the lady this and offered her a job , her name was Mesely she gave me her Mobil number which I am not allowed to put on here .

Then we have to go to the audiological medicine clinic because I have problems with sounds and processing information that goes in my ear . I have problems with certain sounds I just don’t hear and if people have strange voices , it’s very tricky to explain to people . when I got there I looked for a lady that is blind she works there with her special dog , he gets her to work in the morning so she doesn’t kill herself in the London traffic which is bad , she talks to kids that have problems hearing and seeing and I love her dog we can stroke him , anyway she was there I just walked in her room and showed Tim and Tina the dog and we had a chat . I did ask how bad her sight was , mum just looked at me sometimes she rolls her eyes in the air like she’s looking at the sky but her she’s looking at me . anyway she explained she can see white if it’s on a black background .

While I was waiting I played knots and crosses with Tim on a special computer at Great Ormond Street they have lots of nice things for kids because they know we hate hospitals . then the lady that does all the tests come and got me because they had to do more tests on me as my left ear is worse , you go in a special room with two doors its sound prove , mum said we need one at home so no one can hear her scream ! she doesn’t scream very often only when she thinks me and Cameron might kill ourselves and somethings when she has a letter from the education authority then she can scream and throw her paper work down . when I had my tests she had to re-do some tests so I had another 20 things I had to listen to .

After that we had to see my proper doctor Dr Bamiou she has a funny voice but is very kind and has a nice face and good teeth so she has a nice smile . last time I didn’t ask her about her voice because I had so many tests I was a bit upset so this time I asked her about her voice , Dr Bamiou comes from Greece so she is Greek . I told her about  am going to one day buy a place in Greece were the mama mia film is made ,  I couldn’t believe it when she told me she had just got back from holiday there and it is the most beautiful place in the world , thinking about it all I like her lots now because she’s been to the island were I want a house . I know all the songs and the film makes me happy . she also answers all my questions and she said one day I will be able to laugh about all of this and she believes everyone should dream big like me .

I told her I was a school refuser and she was sad about that , then she talked to mum . the doctor said it makes her mad that they wont listen to her and mum about what school I need , when she has made so many recommendations that’s a list of thing people are meant to do but they don’t because they think they know better than a doctor . shes writing a letter she understands how complex i am and she understands my autism with my language problems . mum said complex isn’t a problem its gift because I see the world differently and that’s a wonderful thing , mum loves my way of thinking even when her eyes roll .

When we come out I saw tom , Carolyn and Mark  . it was good to see tom he’s a friend as well . Carolyn and Mark were brown from holiday tom wasn’t he doesn’t like the sun some of us kids with autism and aspergers can’t stand the sun because of our sensory stuff we can’t bear the bright light , we are not all like it but a lot of us are . me and tom played but then he was called in to see the doctor so I was a bit upset because I haven’t seen tom in a long time .

Mum took me to the food place in Great Ormond Street so I could eat something and wait to see how long Tim was going to be I had a small snack , they had really amazing chairs in there they were orange and turned around and around so I sat there for 20 minutes just turning around and around I love spinning lots of kids with autism like spinning its called sensory seeking but I just know I love the feeling when I’m stressed it makes me feel better so mum never stops me she never cares what people think , she always just carries on with what she needs to do and lets me do what I need to do .

Mark came into the food place for a coffee while tom was having his tests , then Tina and Tim came in and wanted something to eat , the restaurant  were doing proper hot food so mum brought me some chicken that’s all I wanted just chicken . we all had some food and sat with mark , I asked mark about did his iPhone have Siri it’s a voice that talks to you Rajesh on the big bang theory he had a relationship with Siri because he can’t talk to women but he could talk to Siri . I asked Mark lots of questions about stuff , he knows a lot about computer stuff mum calls him Mr Which because she can ring mark and he knows the best make and model to buy and where to buy it cheapest , he’s clever .

After me and Tim had been so good we went to the dungeons I wanted to go there , I got a taxi cab he was really funny and answered all my questions , in a cab you have a little window you can slide across so you can talk I decided I would talk to him . in the front of the cab there is only one seat for the driver he said people put their cases next to him , I asked him what does he do if he needs to go to toilet he said he goes in the hotels I suggested he could have a toilet in the cab next to him , Tim thought that was a good ideal as well and you could have a chain . we laughed about that , even the cab driver laughed I asked him how much he gets paid , mum said you can’t ask that , he said he was free all day and he would earn a lot if we wanted to go to Scotland but I wanted to go to the dungeons .

when we got to the dungeons we went straight in Tim was a bit worried because its dark and a bit scary , I wasn’t that scared . when we first got there me and Tim had to pretend to cut our mums heads off for a photo with pretend axes . it’s so so dark I got my iPod out with the torch on and Tina done the same on her iPhone for Tim . there are so many strange and scary things in the London dungeons its all about real history facts in London like the plague and London burning down , jack the ripper how they tortured people they had special things that cut men’s willies off . a lady made a man sit down and got the instrument  out they use to use to cut willies off , she said the man need a smaller instrument . I held my wellie but mum and Tina really laughed . we also went down to the bakers street were  Sweeney Todd killed people and lady put it in pies . there was things I liked and laughed about and there was things I didn’t like . me and Tim didn’t like the bit were you walk through flashing lights and there was a maze thing and walked straight into mirror  mum laughed and said be patient Alex  . it’s a bit like horrible history’s in fact kids should get to learn this way its far more interesting for us . when we come out me and Tim got fed up of walking so we got a river boat back to the London Eye that’s were Waterloo station is , that’s an Abba song as well .

Me and Tim had enough my now , we were going on the London Eye but we’ve been on it lots of times , but I saw a big swing thing along the embankment it was all I could think about it looked high and dangerous and it spins I had to go it was all I could think about I became obsessed mum said because it wasn’t far she would let me have a go but Tim didn’t want to so Tim sat down and we went to the high spinney thing it was £7 for one ride so mum let me have a go it was great I didn’t have to queue but I was a bit disappointed it wasn’t  scary it was just a good view of the House’s of parliament  and the London Eye  . mum said they are a bunch of idiots in parliament they have no common sense .


2 responses to “GREAT ORMOND STREET HOSPITAL IN LONDON TODAY

  1. Alex, I laughed several times at the funny bits here. I roll my eyes at my boy too! I also get mad when I get a letter from the local authority! What a great day you had in London. We have just been there too but we didn’t go in the dungeons, we just went sight seeing. We love it there.

  2. Alison Telfer says:

    Thank you again Alex, i appreciate the chance to look into your world. Your mum is a very special person. Keep writing!

Leave a comment